LINN Classik Integrated Amplifiers user reviews : 3.9 out of 5 - 13 reviews - audioreview.com (2022)

DESCRIPTION

75W x 2 into 4 ohms

USER REVIEWS

Next 10

Showing 1-10 of 13

[Jan 06, 2010]

Steve

AudioPhile

I have owned Linn Classiks since their creation. I have loved each and every one of them, yet through the three different iterations I have experienced, they all had different streangths and weaknesses. My first Linn Classik Music integrated was a delightful bedroom system, yet somewhat thinner sounding than the newer K models. I would equate the difference as to comparing an LK100 to a LK85. The earlier model of Classik would have a similar sound to the LK100, and the newer K model a similar sound to the LK85. I do prefer the classics overall three dimensionality using its internal amp to using it with an LK100 or LK85, but the Classik soon runs out of steam that the other amps seem to have. The newer K series sounds especially open and three dimensional, even sweet, BUT it runs out of steam even more quickly than the original model. I am running four Energy bookshelf speakers off the Classik and the strain becomes too much about 3/4 volume and clips horribly. Below the clipping level I dearly love the Linn Classik K model. My original Linn integrated Classik does not clip as easily, but has a less three dimensional sound overall. It has that "older" Linn sound if you know what I mean. Of the three Classiks I have owned all have had terrible FM sections as far as long distance reception. In the city they may be fine, but where I live their FM reception is very poor and I am constantly struggling to rig up different antennas to try and get better reception. The sound of the FM is very good overall when the station is within range, but not great. I did experience great success with my Classiks as preamps for a pair of 140 watt tube amps. The remote is good, but not great. The buttons are often hard to find in the dark and it is merely ok once you get used to it. Everytime I sell my new stereo componants I dig out my old Linn Classik as it is hard to part with. I am always amazed at it organic sound and three dimensional openness not experienced through a series of multiple amplifiers, yet like I said before the K models clip rather easily, but are very musical. When attaching speakers you must play around with the polarity!!!!!! The Classik can sound very poor when not hooked up properly, and I have found that you need to experiment with different polarities to get the great sound I am talking about. Let me just finnish by saying that I have owned a lot of equipment over the last 30 years, from Conrad Johnson, to Krell, to Mark Levinson, and I always come back to the Linn equipment - as long as it is hooked up properly and the speakers are placed properly. Even the lowly Classik can provide excellent sound at medium to higher volumes provided you can keep it from clipping. I will probably die owning a Classik, even if it is not in my main system at that time. You just have to set a Linn up right to get the best sound. Once set up right, Linn's are hard to beat.

OVERALL
RATING
4

VALUE
RATING
4

[Apr 12, 2008]

JimmyBlues

AudioPhile

Strength:

Excellent sound, compact size, flexibility, competitive price (at least for what I paid for it in 2002 when the dollar was stronger against the Pound -- $1350).

Weakness:

Remote is very busy with more than 50 buttons, and a bit ideosyncratic -- however in time it becomes intuitive to use.

The Linn Classik music system is the most clever piece of audio gear I have ever seen -- so much so that I have dubbed it the Swiss Army Knife of hi-end audio.

In essence, it does everything well, and with a preamplifier out stage, also functions credibly as a hi-end tuner/CD/ preamplifier. With 50 watts per channel on tap into 8 ohm speakers, it also mates up quite well to the Linn Kan V's which I purchased with my Classik.

This is a quality piece of gear which created an entirely new category in hi-end audio -- the CD/Receiver. Other companies such as NAD have attempted to cash in on this concept with much cheaper and lesser offerings like the L40 CD/Receiver and C 715 CD Receiver, which replaced the aging L40. However, the Classic is in a different league from the other two, offering far superior sonics as well as build quality; not mention double the amplifier power.

It is truly of the set and forget school of audio, which after eight years and several iterations, continues to be a popular seller for Linn Audio.

I use the Classik during the summer months, occasionally substituting it for my NAD 3130 integrated and 402 tuner, while saving my tube gear for the cooler months of the year.

After 5 years running, the Classik continues to impress me with its clever design and excellent sonics.

OVERALL
RATING
5

VALUE
RATING
5

(Video) Review! The Heed Elixir integrated amp!

[Oct 03, 2007]

keith

Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great styling.

Weakness:

As above -and the amp is weaker than those glowing and obviously bought reviews in the magazines would have you believe.

Very unhappy.

The disc player does not recognize about one in ten CD's. Remote is fiddly to use. The headphone jack seems pretty weak. Using AKG 501 headphones, I have to really turn up the volume to get much sound at all (They works fine with a $40 CD walkman). Occaisonally some vocal tracks play as if the man is singing from down the hall (again, playing the CD elsewhere does not yield up this problem).

Customer Service

Never answered me.I took off the top of the unit and cleaned the lens with a few blast of air from a can. This has worked in the past, but not this time.

OVERALL
RATING
1

VALUE
RATING
1

[Jan 22, 2004]

William

Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Value -- sonic signature is very much traditional Linn (love it or hate it). One remote & high WAF!

Weakness:

Its not perfect & not a substitute for high end seperates. Runs out of steam driving full range speakers at a high level -- has better control over bookshelf speakers. CD player is pleasant, but not the last word in detail. Its not for everyone. Back to the auto analogy --- Linn makes better equipment just like BMW makes better cars than the 3-series, but they all share the same basic driving qualities. Those who prefer big SUV's are better off with a big 5-channel surround receiver. Those who see a Honda Accord or Camry as a better value should look to NAD or Rotel.

I own the classik-T. Have owned a bunch of mid-fi equipment (Creek, NAD, AMC, Arcam) and this is the most satisfying single piece of equipment I have owned. Used in an all Linn system. Pleasure to use (one remote!!), perfect reliability. Good value -- particularly if you can find a used one that has been well taken care of. When looking to replace Arcam 7, demo'd the usual suspects (NAD 350, Creek 4330R, Rega Brio, etc...) at home with the Linn, but could not find another combination of Integrated amp, CD player, Tuner and Interconnects (people forget to add the cost of a tuner and interconnects) from one brand operating on a single remote from that sounded as good for less money.Sound -- Smooth treble, nice weight and drive in the bass, detailed and open midrange w/o being etched or fatiguing, doesn't sound overly airy or mid hall like most US high end products. Very "integrated" sound. Summary - Touch of the high end for a modest price. Electronics equivalent to an entry level 3-series BMW.

Similar Products Used:

Lots of mid-fi. Lots of Camry's and Accords.

OVERALL
RATING
4

VALUE
RATING
5

(Video) Yamaha A-S501 Integrated Amplifier Review - A Modern Classic!

[Sep 03, 2003]

dlbritton42

AudioPhile

Strength:

Compact size.

Weakness:

Poor sound; very lean sounding, making cd's sound even worse than they usually do. NAD and Rega would be better choices, albeit in two boxes instead of one.

A very over-rated piece of audio equipment; a 10 year old Meridian 206 cd player through any decent electronics smokes this. Very thin sounding overall; lacks weight. The tone controls really need to be used for the majority of cd's to sound even marginally acceptable. I think the original Classik sounded better. If you really require just one box, this is better than the mass market alternatives, but at many times the price.

Similar Products Used:

NAD C340, Audio Research LS3, Forte Model 4, Meridian 206

OVERALL
RATING
1

VALUE
RATING
1

[Mar 04, 2003]

John

Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clarity!

Weakness:

Price!

I'm using the Classik to drive a pair of Triangle Titus', biwired with a set of Tributaries cable. Had been using an ancient 1993 Sony CD played with Pioneer receiver. Wow... what a difference. The system is fast and articulate. The CD puts to shame most mid-priced, mass-marketed units such as Denon, Yamaha, Sony ES.

Similar Products Used:

Yamaha, Integra/Onkyo, KEF

OVERALL
RATING
5

(Video) Accuphase e380 Review...Classic traditional design

VALUE
RATING
3

[Nov 08, 2002]

Vadim

Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

SOUND QUALITY. This system really makes you think about buying high-quality CDs and stop burning things off the web.

Weakness:

Radio reception could be stronger.

For an all-in-one combination.... Excellent! I had doubts about amp+cd+tuner in one box, but Linn proved that great quality can be achieved even in this combo. Very easy to operate (takes a week though). Together with Linn Ninka speakers - ahh!

Similar Products Used:

Tested; Arcams, Bryson, Mark&Levinson (this one IS better :-) ), Denon, NAD.

OVERALL
RATING
5

VALUE
RATING
4

[Sep 25, 2002]

Richard Willems

Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

UpgradeableCheap for what you are gettinVery good soundSmall compact

Weakness:

Very minor grumble the speaker sockets are Linn type.

I had my heart set on purchasing a new system and had decided to keep mu NAD C350 and add to it an Arcam CD72+ and the Quad 11L. I had never heard any Linn equipment but knew they had a good reputation so for a laugh I auditioned it against the Arcam CD player with an Arcam amp with the Quads. The Linn was way out of my budget but after hearing it I could not settle for less. I really love it. Having read reviews on the internet then you should know that there IS an optical out which is one thing that people thought it was missing.Despite reviews on this site and others I must say I think the remote is not difficult to use.I use it with the Quad 11Ls which I think is a good match. The two together seem very versatile which is important as my music taste is quite broad. The sound itself is great IMO. From The Prodigy - Smack My B*tch Up to Eva Cassidy - Time After Time it all sounds just RIGHT.As with all Linn gear it is very well built and can be used in multi room systems. Of course power amps can be added to it.CD player can read all kind of CDRs btwNot used the tuner yet cos I dont like the radio but will do soonVery pleased with my purchase

Similar Products Used:

Arcam cd72+ + a75 amp,

OVERALL
RATING
5

VALUE
RATING
4

(Video) Amazing PrimaLuna Prologue tube integrated amp vs Yaqin MC10L

[Sep 21, 2002]

Howard

Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

The Classik is superbly built and excellent value for money and the Linn pedigree is evident in all aspects of its performance. You can even "colour code" it to match your chosen room!

Weakness:

None that I have found as yet.

My trusty Denon D100 system recently packed up after ten years of loyal service. The Classik was strongly recommended by the local stockist and, so far, I am not disappointed. Don't be fooled by its compact size. This is a powerful and complete system in one very neat box. A powerful pre-amp, competent tuner and excellent CD. I was told it could drive any reasonable speakers and it certainly has no difficulty working with my Mission 760's. FM reception here is admittedly, very good and the tuner produces superb, resonant, sweet sound. CD performance is outstanding. The music has a character and "openness" that I did not experience with the Denon, good though it undoubtedly was. The remote is a bit daunting at first glance, but with practice, I am finding it quite logical and straight forward to use. Basic set-up of the unit was easy and the owner's manual was simple to follow. Highly recommended.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5

VALUE
RATING
5

[May 17, 2002]

rilesm

Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Looks great, sounds good (not real powerful with B&W skrs).

Weakness:

Poor reliability, and steep learning curve in using all the features.

I''ve had the Classik for just over a year, FM tuner section is a bit weak on pulling in signals, looks great, use of the Classik is a steep learning curve (complicated remote control), and I''ve just shipped it back to Linn for the 2nd time in the last year for repairs (1st time the CD stopped working - last week the whole unit stopped working with an ERRA readout when turned on). I asked Linn of Florida for a new unit & was turned down. I''m disapointed in the poor reliability, and also the fact that Overture Audio of Ann Arbor Michigan sold me a "new" unit in March of 2001 that had been shipped to them in the fall of 1999. Wouldn''t recommend purchasing the Classik to others.

Similar Products Used:

none in this price range.

OVERALL
RATING
1

VALUE
RATING
1

Next 10

(Video) Naim Nait XS3 ... my thoughts and OMG I love this AMP!!!

Showing 1-10 of 13

Videos

1. How to repair a dead Integrated home audio amplifier step by step
(D-lab Electronics)
2. How High End Audio is made - Factory Visit NAIM Audio - UK
(TheAlphaAudio)
3. Retro Review #7 The Naim Nait 1
(cheshireaudio)
4. BEST $100 Subwoofer Amp?? WUDI 8808.1D 6800W Amp Dyno Test and Review [4K}
(Williston Audio Labs)
5. BEA LAM & LUKE MANLEY Of VACUUM TUBE LOGIC
(Stereophile)
6. Orange Crush 35RT Combo Amplifier | A Review By Salty
(Musicorp Australia)

Top Articles

You might also like

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Manual Maggio

Last Updated: 09/29/2022

Views: 5283

Rating: 4.9 / 5 (69 voted)

Reviews: 92% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Manual Maggio

Birthday: 1998-01-20

Address: 359 Kelvin Stream, Lake Eldonview, MT 33517-1242

Phone: +577037762465

Job: Product Hospitality Supervisor

Hobby: Gardening, Web surfing, Video gaming, Amateur radio, Flag Football, Reading, Table tennis

Introduction: My name is Manual Maggio, I am a thankful, tender, adventurous, delightful, fantastic, proud, graceful person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.